top of page

Getting colder...


The picture is of Brownie, one of the "Oddball Sisters"

It is getting colder.

Tonight I could see my breath while closing the chickens in for the night.

Today I fed the chickens some cherry tomatoes that had become cracked while still on the tomato plant. I also fed them a small pumpkin that had grown but was not going to develope into a proper pumpkin. They loved it! I cut it into chunks using a shovel and tossed it in. They pecked away at it for quite a while - anything that can keep them busy is always a good thing.

I have been continually using a website called "Backyard Chickens" for information. It is incredibly helpful. I recently referred to it to find out if chickens can eat grapes and potato peels - answer is yes to grapes if they are considered seedless and yes to potato peels as long as they are not green (turn green from sun/light exposure = toxins in the skin).

"Backard Chickens" is a website/forum that has so many resources from breed types to coop building. I have yet to fully explore everything on the website but know as the months go by I will be continuing to reference the site.

I highly suggest if you are looking for answers to your chicken questions, check out "Backyard Chickens" for help.

I will be linking it on our "resources" page.

Cluck-Cluck for now!

~M~

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page